Florida Gun Laws


“(a) The right of the people to keep and bear arms in defense of themselves and of the lawful authority of the state shall not be infringed, except that the manner of bearing arms may be regulated by law. (b) There shall be a mandatory period of three days, excluding weekends and legal holidays, between the purchase and delivery at retail of any handgun. For the purposes of this section, “purchase” means the transfer of money or other valuable consideration to the retailer, and “handgun” means a firearm capable of being carried and used by one hand, such as a pistol or revolver. Holders of a concealed weapon permit as prescribed in Florida law shall not be subject to the provisions of this paragraph. (c) . . . anyone violating the provisions of subsection (b) shall be guilty of a felony. (d) This restriction shall not apply to a trade in of another handgun.” Article 1, Section 8. Florida Gun Laws

The legislature of the State of Florida, in a declaration of policy incorporated in its “Weapons and Firearms” statute, recognizes that adult citizens of the state retain their constitutional right to keep and bear firearms for hunting and sporting activities and for defense of self, family, home, and business and as collectibles.

Gun Laws Overview

Permit to PurchaseNoNo
Registration of FirearmsNoNo
Licensing of OwnersNoNo
Permit to CarryNoYes
The list and map below are included as a tool to assist you in validating your information.  We have made every effort to report the information correctly, however reciprocity and recognition agreements are subject to frequent change.  The information is not intended as legal advice or a restatement of law and does not include:  restrictions that may be placed on non-resident permits, individuals under the age of 21, qualifying permit classes, and/or any other factor which may limit reciprocity and/or recognition.  For any particular situation, a licensed local attorney must be consulted for an accurate interpretation.  YOU MUST ABIDE WITH ALL LAWS: STATE, FEDERAL AND LOCAL. Florida Gun Laws
Castle DoctrineEnacted
No-Net LossEnacted
Right to Carry ConfidentialityProvisions Enacted
Right to Carry in RestaurantsPartial Ban
Right To Carry LawsShall Issue
Right To Carry Reciprocity and RecognitionTrue Reciprocity
Right to Keep & Bear Arms State Constitutional ProvisionsWith Provisions
Florida Gun Laws

CONCEALED CARRY RECIPROCITYSELECT MAP                 U.S. Concealed Carry Reciprocity                 U.S. Concealed Carry Reciprocity Recognition             CLICK ON A STATE TO SEE THE GUN LAW PROFILECTDEHIMDMANHNJNYNYCRIVTDCGUAMPUERTO RICO

These States recognize Florida’s permit


Laws on Purchase, Possession and Carrying of Firearms

Purchase and PossessionNo state permit is required to possess or purchase a rifle, shotgun or handgun.It is unlawful for any convicted felon to have in his or her care, custody, control, or possession any firearm or to carry a concealed weapon unless his civil rights have been restored.MORE
CarryingUnless covered under the exceptions listed below, it is unlawful to openly carry on or about the person any firearm, or to carry a concealed firearm on or about the person without a license.  A first time carry license will cost $70.  A renewal license will cost $60.MORE Florida Gun Laws
Antiques and ReplicasUnless used in the commission of a crime, the term firearm shall not include an antique firearm. An antique firearm is any firearm manufactured in or before 1918 (including any matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap, or similar early type of ignition system) or replicas thereof, whether actually manufactured before or after the year 1918, and also any firearm using fixed ammunition manufactured in or before 1918, for which ammunition is no longer manufactured in the United States and is not readily available in the ordinary channels of commercial trade.
Machine GunsThe possession of a machine gun, defined as any firearm which shoots, or is designed to shoot, automatically, more than one shot without manually reloading, by a single function of the trigger, is prohibited unless lawfully owned and possessed under provisions of federal law.
Range ProtectionA person who operates or uses a sport shooting range is not subject to an action for nuisance, and a court of this state shall not enjoin the use or operation of a sport shooting range on the basis of noise or noise pollution, if the range is in compliance with any noise control laws or ordinances that applied to the range and its operation at the time of construction or initial operation of the range.MORE Florida Gun Laws
MiscellaneousUnder Florida law, there is no “duty to retreat” if you are attacked in any place you have a lawful right to be.  Instead, you may stand your ground and meet force with force, including deadly force, if you reasonably believe it is necessary to prevent death or great bodily harm to yourself or others.MORE
Source: FLA. STAT. ANN. §§ 784.05; 790.001; 790.01; 790.15; 790.53; 790.06; 790.065; 790.655; 790.07; 790.10; 790.11; 790.15; 790.16; 790.17; 790.174; 790.175; 790.18; 790.19; 790.22; 790.221; 790.233; 790.235; 790.33; 790.331; and 790.333Internet Sources: Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, http://licgweb.doacs.state.fl.us/weapons/index.html Florida Gun Laws

In Florida, a person must be at least 21 years of age to purchase a firearm from a licensed firearms dealer. Private sales between individuals are allowed, but it is strongly recommended that all such sales be done through a licensed firearms dealer to ensure the buyer is legally allowed to possess a firearm. A permit is required to carry a concealed firearm in the state. Open carry of firearms is allowed in many areas of the state, but it is strongly recommended to check with local authorities before doing so. There are a number of places where the open carry of firearms is prohibited, such as schools, courthouses, and airports.

1 thought on “Florida Gun Laws”

Leave a Comment

Item added to cart.
0 items - $0.00